The Sports Injury Clinic   4 comments

Just like John, I automatically thought about online, self diagnosis sites where you can “click where it hurts!”

I googled “virtual health diagnosis/athletes” and got this really interesting site: The Sports Injury Clinic. http://www.sportsinjuryclinic.net/

What I thought was interesting about this site is it actually has a Virtual Sports Injury Therapist, but in order to access this therapist, you have to click “I agree” to their caveat: “The site sportsinjuryclinic.net including the Virtual Therapist is purely a source of information and can at no time replace the expert eye of a qualified professional. We recommend seeking professional advice before embarking on any form of self treatment. Neither the content or nor any other service provided through sportsinjuryclinic.net is intended to be relied on for medical diagnosis or treatment. Never delay in seeking professional advice because of something seen on sportsinjuryclinic.net. Please read our full terms and conditions if you are in any doubt.”

I find this funny because, as we discussed in class, generally people try to use the internet to self diagnose to prepare for the doctor OR to avoid going to the doctor.  What they find during these searches of what could be a seemingly simple injury such as a sprain or surface contusion, can lead a person down the lines of cyberchondria and scare themselves into bone bruises/torn ligaments/fractures/etc.  This, in turn, leads them directly back to the doctor of whom they were trying to avoid in the first place and for those who were going anywhere arrive with more worry about the injury than what they had initially:).

So in a way, I see these online self-help sites as beneficial (not as detrimental like I thought before I came into this class) to physicians and therapists because it can increase the amount of patrons as well as the frequency of visits – all resulting in more cash for the business.  Due to this “health anxiety,” not only can site pioneers like Sports Injury Clinic reap benefits from cyberchondria, so can our physical injury clinics as well (86)!

Posted September 16, 2010 by terieleawatkins in Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Sports Injury Clinic

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I returned to the site today (an unscheduled visit)–I promise not to become a permanent lurker–to see how your conversation has gone. I have a question: Many of you have referred to personal experience in the course of your contributions. I, as you know from the death chapter of my book, have more than referred to my own. I wonder what you think of the place of that reporting self–not autoethnographer, quite–but something like that . . . in scholarship in rhetoric of health and medicine. What thoughts on the scholar/researcher as experiencer?

    • We appreciate your input, lurk on. . . your question is really interesting. On the second week on class, I asked Dr. Scott about “disclosure,” noting that there was a lot of personal experience being shared in class. While I very much appreciate the disclosure of others, I am not one to disclose, myself. Part of the reason for this is because I can become pretty emotional about issues involving the health and wellness of my family. I do not feel that I could contribute as thoughtfully to our conversations if I relied on my personal experience. However, some of the “best” learning moments for me in class have been from listening to others talk and write about their experiences.

      You ask a challenging question, so I will ask one too. . .Does one’s emotional distance perhaps created by the passing of time seem to improve one’s ability to disclose thoughtfully and pointedly, as you do in your book? Or is it best to explore an issue while it is fresh and compelling?

  2. One of the books we’ll read later, Teratologies, is a great example of this approach, though its author is a cultural critic rather than a rhetorician.

  3. I second Jen’s appreciation for your lurking and input. I also like this question, as I appreciate the weaving of personal narrative with theory, science, and seemingly objective concepts. You use the personal effectively in your Death and Dying chapter. Montgomery is another example of how such a strategy can enhance one’s argument and lead to connections with readers in ways that leaving the personal out cannot. As someone who teaches Women’s Studies, I am hyperaware of the role of personal narrative in discussions and papers and have to temper it a bit by sending them to the texts to make connections. But this is to prevent my classes from turning into therapy sessions. When done “well” by an author, it can be a powerful enhancer.

    I am wrestling with Jen’s question a bit and look forward to hearing other thoughts on this. I think at once the distance can be a benefit and a drawback. Probably more of a benefit though…I think that’s where I stand on that (for now;).

Leave a Reply

